Abandoned checkout recovery

AdminOrders

Reminder

Abandoned checkout recovery is only available on Professional or Unlimited plans. If you are on our Basic plan, there are several apps available in the Shopify App Store. (Type the word abandoned in the search bar on the app store.)

Not everybody who adds something to a cart makes it all the way through to purchase a product. Sometimes they give up along the way. Anytime a potential customer provides their contact information but doesn't complete the order, we store that as an abandoned checkout.

With abandoned checkouts, you can:

Review your abandoned checkouts

You can review your abandoned checkouts to find patterns as to why customers aren't completing orders.

  1. From your shop admin go to the Orders page.
  2. From the Orders page, in the upper right-hand corner, click the Abandoned checkout button.
  3. You can now review your abandoned checkouts.

    #

Automatically send an email to a customer with a permalink to their abandoned checkout

You can automatically send an email to customers 6 hours or 24 hours after they abandoned their checkout. Each email contains a permalink, also referred to as a permanent link, to a customer's abandoned checkout so that they can quickly and easily complete their checkout if they so choose.

Under certain circumstances, we may not send out a recovery email for an abandoned checkout:

  • If a potential customer creates more than one abandoned checkout in a row, only one email will be sent to that potential customer.
  • If a potential customer creates one or more abandoned checkouts and then completes a sale before the recovery email gets sent, then the email won't ever be sent.
  • If a payment processing error occured when the customer tried to complete their checkout, then the email won't ever be sent.
  • If your shop does not support shipping to the customers address, then the email won't ever be sent.
  • If none of the products in the checkout are available for purchase (empty inventory, for example), then the email won't ever be sent.

If you have configured your shop to automatically send recovery emails, the Abandoned Checkouts page will contain tooltips explaining why recovery emails were not delivered.

To enable automatic abandoned checkout recovery emails:

  1. From your store admin, go to the Settings > Checkout page.

  2. Scroll down to the Order Processing section.

  3. Under the If the customer abandons their checkout heading, choose one of the following options from the drop-down menu:

    • Never (default): This will never send an email to customers when they abandon their carts. You can still manually send an email to customers.
    • 6 hours: This will send an email to the customer 6 hours after they abandon their cart with a permalink to their abandoned checkout so that they can easily complete the checkout process.
    • 24 hours: This will send an email to the customer 24 hours after they abandon their cart with a permalink to their abandoned checkout so that they can easily complete the checkout process.

    #

  4. Click the Save changes button.

Information

Why 6 or 24 hours? We reviewed how often people completed orders on their own after abandoning a checkout and found that of those that did, they would do so within 5 hours of their original abandoned checkout. We also noticed a spike 24 hours afterwards. These two times were chosen to maximize the number of recovered checkouts for your store.

You can review the status of each abandoned order email by going to the Orders tab and clicking the Abandoned checkouts button. The status of each recovery email is found under the Email Status. The status of the abandoned checkout can be found under Recovery Status.

#

After an email gets sent, the checkout will only be considered "recovered" if the customer clicks on that link and competes the checkout. If a customer completes an order by returning to the website, without using the Checkout Recovery URL, then it won't be marked as recovered.

#

Caution

Tip: A great way to entice customers to complete their checkout is to offer them a discount. Learn how to create discount codes.

Manually send an email to a customer with a permalink to their abandoned checkout

Do you want to include a discount code with your abandoned checkout recovery email? You can manually send an email with a permalink, also referred to as permanent link, to a customer's abandoned cart so that they can quickly and easily complete their checkout if they choose.

  1. From your shop admin go to the Orders page.
  2. From the Orders page, in the upper right-hand corner, click the Abandoned checkout button.
  3. Click on the abandoned order that you would like to issue an email to.
  4. At the top of the "Abandoned checkout" page, you will be given a permalink to that customer's cart.

    #

  5. Copy that link and email it to the customer so that they may complete their checkout. You may also want to include a discount code.

The Recovery Status on the Abandoned Checkout page will only update to "recovered" if the customer completes their order using that link.

#

Change the automatic abandoned checkout recovery email

You can also make changes to the automatic email that is sent out to customers. To make changes to this email:

  1. From your store admin, go to the Settings > Notifications.

  2. Under the Email Templates section, click on the Abandoned Checkout Notification.

    #

  3. Make changes to the template and Save your changes.

Caution

Made a mistake to the email template? Want to revert back to the original one? You can view and copy the original code here.

Ready to put what you've learned into action?

Build an online store with Shopify. Try it free.

Experience the future of retail now.

Shopify Point of Sale. Try it free.