Pause or close your Shopify store

AdminSettingsAccount

If you're the account owner, you can pause or close your store at any time.

Pause your Shopify store

Pausing your store disables checkout but keeps your store running at a reduced cost. This means customers can see your products but can't purchase them.

If you want to start selling products again, you can change your plan type back at any time.

To pause your store:

  1. Log in as the account owner.

  2. From your store Admin, go to the Account Settings page.

  3. Scroll down to Cancel or pause your store.

  4. Under Pause your store, click Find out more.

    #

  5. An explanatory dialog opens. If you're happy with the terms and the charges, click Yes, I want to pause my store. Otherwise, click Cancel.

    #

Close your Shopify store

If you don't want to run your online store any more, you can close it at any time:

  1. Log in as the account owner.

  2. From your store Admin, go to the Account Settings page.

  3. Scroll down to Cancel or pause your store.

  4. Under Want to close your store?, click Close my store.

    #

  5. At this point, you have the opportunity to get in touch to see if we can help you. If you're sure you want to close, it would be great if you'd click on a reason in the drop-down menu. When you're ready, click Close my store.

    #

Ready to put what you've learned into action?

Build an online store with Shopify. Try it free.

Experience the future of retail now.

Shopify Point of Sale. Try it free.